Why College Kids Love Getting Mail

Greetings and Happy Valentine’s Day, squadlings!

By now, I have adjusted pretty well to life in my dorm: I know which showers are slightly less disgusting and have better water pressure than others, I know exactly how long it takes me to get to my classes (4 minutes, thank you), and I know that college kids freakin’ love getting mail. 

When we would get mail at home, it was usually some type of bill, a letter from school saying your tuition is due, or something stupid from a rip-off honor society you’ve been asked to join (yes, I’m in one). Getting mail here is actually interesting.

Usually, I watch my friends walk away with pizza coupons or things we’ve all ordered off Amazon that we KNOW we can’t afford, but sometimes, it’s cards, care packages, or even letters from other friends.

giphy

We moved. Some of us, a long way. We left behind the life we grew up with and started over in a new place. Getting mail shows us that people didn’t forget about us. troy-community-emotions

So far, in the mail, I’ve gotten a shitload of useless crap I ordered from Amazon and eBay, laptop stickers, new sheets curtesy of my mom, a Pillow Pet keychain that holds ID cards (which is actually very convenient, 10/10 would recommend), and two cards from my aunt.

The real thrill is getting package slips, but of course, that’s only happened with crap I’ve ordered from Amazon and eBay (I got a laptop case from eBay because my dumb ass dropped my laptop from my lofted bed, cracked my old case, and dented my laptop. Good times). 

So, the moral of the story for my family and friends reading this is SEND ME THINGS.

Good day, squadlings.

Leave a Reply

