Changes

Happy 2017, squadlings!

2017, especially the start of it, is going to bring a lot of changes. Hell, it’s been less than 24 hours, and it already has.

As y’all know (or if you don’t, read about it heremy grandmother sold her house that she has lived in for 50 years. She closed on the house on December 30th, and it officially belongs to a young couple now, named Megan and Mark (I think, I don’t remember). I met them on the closing date, but to be honest, they really didn’t seem too interested in our family or the history of the house. Whatever, that’s their problem.

Our family made our mark on the house before we left; my cousins and I managed to take the bell off the back of the door that my grandfather had placed there to alert him when one of his eight children came home in the middle of the night. Technically, my cousins and I “share custody” of the bell, and my cousins have it now. I guess there’s a weird sense of comfort in knowing that someone in our family has the bell.

We also wrote our names in places around the house (don’t worry, not in noticeable, heavily populated areas). We wrote on the back of a post in the garage and on the wall behind the furnace in the basement. I would post pictures, but they all contain our real names. We basically just signed our names. My brother, cousins, mother, and two aunts all left our mark on the house that left such a big mark on us.

Peace out, 247.

giphy

Aside from the closing of the house, as I’m sure you all know, Carrie Fisher died.

I don’t know why I was so upset about her death, honestly. I grew up watching Star Wars with my brother, and it was a big part of my childhood. My mother’s favorite movie is When Harry Met Sally, so I also grew up watching her in that.

RIP, Princess Leia. carrie_fisher_princess_leia_by_dave_daring-d5laxr7

The biggest change 2017 is going to bring is the fact that, in just 17 days, I’m moving.

I’ve -repeatedly- talked about how I’m transferring out of my community college and heading to a university three hours from home, and in just 17 days, that’s where I’m off to.

Honestly, I’m ready to leave my hometown. I thought, as the day approached, I would be feeling more heartsick about leaving, but I’m not. Yeah, I’m gonna miss my dogs, my brothers, my sisters, my few friends who are still here, and my parents, but honestly, I’m ready to go.

I don’t even know if I can say I’m excited to leave. I wouldn’t say excited is the right word. I mean, I’m still going to be going to school, and school sucks. I guess all I can say is I’m ready. 

Wish me luck, squadlings!

Leave a Reply

