Stuffed animal hospital?

 

Let me just make this clear: Dotty is a stuffed animal, and I am eighteen years old.

As far as I can remember, Dotty the Dalmatian was purchased on a camping trip fifteen or sixteen years ago, and he’s guarded my bed ever since. He was the “father” of all my other stuffed dogs, best friends with my brother’s stuffed Husky back in the day.

I don’t remember when Dotty lost his eye. 2005, maybe? That doesn’t matter, though. What matters is that Dotty being a cyclops has bothered me ever since. My brother and I used to pretend Dotty was in an accident and lost an eye, but in reality, he just had an unfortunate run-in with a flight of stairs while I was tossing him up and down at church. Oops. My father told me he would fix Dotty, but he never got around to it, and Dotty’s forgotten eye is long gone.

Bear in mind, I am eighteen years old, and my bed is 100% covered in stuffed animals. My actual dog can barely fit on my bed due to his stuffed animal lookalike taking up his space. I. am. obsessed. with. stuffed. animals.

I’ve Googled “stuffed animal hospital” in an attempt to cure Dotty a few times, but I’ve never actually done anything about it. Today, I found a blog post about a woman who sent her beloved stuffed lamb to a stuffed animal hospital; you can read that post here. Somewhat intrigued yet confused, I Googled the hospital name, and, after spending way too much time on the hospital’s website -which you can find here-, I found an email.

 

Do not ask me what possessed me to do this, because I will not be able to tell you.

 

I emailed the “doctor.” I gave her the basics: my name, my age, where I’m from, and of course, poor Dotty’s situation. Within an hour, I had a response. The “doctor”, named Beth, explained that she was sorry for Dotty’s injury and that, luckily, eye replacement is a simple “surgery.” Then, she told me the cost to fix poor Dotty.

Yikes.

Believe me, it’s actually not that expensive. The shipping out to her location in California is actually a lot less than I expected it to be. The problem is, I’m a broke college student. And by broke, I mean BROKE. 

I’ve Googled ways to fix Dotty on my own; buying a spare eye off of eBay and gluing it to his face, for example, but it’s not that simple. In fact, it’s quite complicated, actually. I don’t know why Dotty’s cyclopsness bothers me so much, it just makes me sad to look at him and see a one-eyed dog.

Yes, I know he’s a stuffed animal. Shut up.

So, am I actually going to drop this amount of money (if I ever come across it) to fix my old friend? Or am I going to stare at a one-eyed dog for the rest of my life? More importantly, how will I actually gain the confidence to send poor Dotty to California, while I’m here freezing my ass off in the Midwest?

I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

dotty-9364-1

A two-eyed, mint condition Dotty Dalmatian. My Dotty does not look like this. My Dotty is pictured above.

Leave a Reply

